Installing a 6-71, should I use a crank hub or keep my SFI balancer

Discussion in 'High Performance Modifications' started by Z-Life, Apr 7, 2021.

1. Z-Life

Z-Life Nasty Member

I have no experience setting up and running a 6-71 blower, I am reading all I can find and in the final stages of parts gathering. Have a really nice polished 6-71 with a long snout and 3" belt with pulleys setup to run it 18% under. The blower is from BDS. I expect to need to swap to a short water pump, and while I wish I could run a serpentine system Ive only seen them for LS set up and not SBC. In addition to the short w/p I will have to move the alternator and ps pump mounting back towards the motor. Im looking at a crank hub, pulleys and intake is about all I need to finish. I've read you can run either the harmonic balancer, or a blower crank hub. Cons of the balancer are only 3 mounting bolts for the pulleys and that is a weak spot that can come apart and cause a lot of damage. Crank hub has 6 bolts to mount pulleys and they never come apart. Im just concerned as there is no weight to the crank hub but people say the big blower belt will make up for the lack of a balancer.

I guess what I am looking for is confirmation that I can run the crank hub instead of a balancer on my street application and not worry about it, someone to say yes that is how we run them all day long.

I'll probably be running v groove pulleys and trying to add A/C at some point, serpentine would be cool but Im not willing to pay big bucks for one, if there is any factory serpentine system that would work well for this application I'd like to know what have others done.

2. G72Zed

G72Zed Veteran Member

I would run a damper and not the solid crank hub, maybe drag only, but the partial throttling and varying speeds and decel on a street application may be a lot to ask for a belt. Harmonics play havoc on parts.