Insted of buying tubular A arms for an f-body

Discussion in 'Suspension, Steering, Brake & Wheel Topics' started by 1320feet, Apr 18, 2020.

1. 1320feet

1320feet Member

As I understand it, tubular a arms main advantage it to gain some caster. I was thinking of machining the stock shaft back 3/8 to 1/2 (from blue line to red line in photo)and adding a spacer to the other end. Why will this not work?
    [​IMG]

2. badazz81z28

badazz81z28 Veteran Member

I understand the aftermarket arms geometry is built into the arm, not the cross shaft. I’m not a engineer, but I can’t grasp how that mod gives you caster.

3. McCune

McCune Veteran Member

It would move the upper a arm towards the rear of the car,tilting the spindle back giving you more caster.

Zee likes this.
  4. ULTM8Z

ULTM8Z Veteran Member

They have offset cross shafts that give you another degree or so. But frankly it's not worth the effort, as you won't notice any difference from stock. I ran those prior to my tubular arms and got ~2 to 2.5 deg.

When you go to tubular arms and get your caster up to 6-7 degrees, that's when you really notice the improvement.

5. 79T/Aman

79T/Aman Veteran Member NastyZ28 Sponsor NastyZ28 Sponsor Lifetime Gold Member

the gains would not be worth the effort and there is not enough room to move it because of the frame mount

6. 1320feet

1320feet Member

The offset cross shafts I've seen only affected camber. Are there others that affect caster that I've missed?

7. ULTM8Z

ULTM8Z Veteran Member

It rotates the A arm toward the rear by a little bit relative to the lower arm, so it gives you a little bit of caster.

8. 79T/Aman

79T/Aman Veteran Member NastyZ28 Sponsor NastyZ28 Sponsor Lifetime Gold Member

correct, offset cross shafts affect camber, there are none that change caster, offset cross shafts can help add more caster to some degree because it allows for more shims to be used but it will not come near what an aftermarket arm can do

9. 1320feet

1320feet Member