Just a 79 camaro

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by PTC, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. PTC

    PTC New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    Kloogaranna
    It has been some journey from 2011. No motor no transmission. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Looks like car is produced for Europe - having German tags. Havent been able to find any references in internet on such Europen options.
    Currently working on wiring - using EZ wiring set - which is a small challenge. In terms of motor - thinking on LS1 - as work in progress with wiring - a supporting comments would be appreciated regards wiring aspects of having LS1.
     
  2. hot72rod

    hot72rod Veteran Member Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,022
    Likes Received:
    40
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    Phenix City Al / Columbus Ga
    Not sure how easy it would be for you to get an LS over there, but if you can easily get one, that would be the route I would take.

    On the wiring you may want to hold off until you get a motor, if you get an LS there are going to be a few wiring differences. There will be some wires you will need to add and some that you will need to delete.
     
  3. BigBlock73

    BigBlock73 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Location:
    Accord,New York
    Nice color
     
  4. PTC

    PTC New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    Kloogaranna
    Thanks for comments; Working on wiring - fuse box installed. Using some general GM wiring means a lot of adapting work. Still having problems to find good fastening option for horn relay - doubt that it was designed just hang freely on wires. + as still planning to have LS1 in engine - i need to find location under dash for 2 relays at least - fuel pump and brake switch - location advices would be appreciated. As there is no circuit in fuse box for rear window defogger - power to be taken from accessory ports but having been able to find suitable terminals yet.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Coadster32

    Coadster32 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    365
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Milford,CT
    FWIT...my horn realy is hanging freely on my 79. (I think I cable tied it up to something)
     
  6. Da-bigguy

    Da-bigguy Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    The car looks great! I agree with others, if you can get an LS engine, go with that!
     
  7. falloutboy

    falloutboy Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,283
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Grafenberg, Baden-W├╝rttemberg, Germany
    Yeah a German Camaro in Estonia :) Something you don't see that often.
    Willing to share what you think are "German options".

    If Estonian parts places are somewhat like German stores - that is having no frigging clue what you're talking about or what you need, than I may be of assistance.
    But I would need some detailed explanation what you actually want to do and what you think you need, or what you have.
    Especially wiring is kind of a no-mans land here in Europe, finding terminals, splices, connectors or insulation is horror.

    And yes, that color is awesome :)
     
  8. FatnLow

    FatnLow Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL US
    Nice!! You can tell by the tail lights. Amber on the outside. Welcome!!
     
  9. hot72rod

    hot72rod Veteran Member Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,022
    Likes Received:
    40
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    Phenix City Al / Columbus Ga
    That is just euro spec.
     
  10. Carinsulation.com

    Carinsulation.com Veteran Member NastyZ28 Sponsor Gold Member

    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Location:
    Coplay PA
    You could always go with a 5.3 iron block with a turbo and then add a tremec 6 speed to that and call it a day! :bowtie: :cool:

    Good luck with your project!
     

Share This Page