Lokar cable with stock pedal?

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by CamaroMan79, May 30, 2017.

  1. CamaroMan79

    CamaroMan79 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,206
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Location:
    Selah, WA
    What is the best way to connect the clevis on a Lokar throttle cable to the gas pedal? This is in my 84 C10 but it has the same gas pedal as our Camaros with the round hole and small slit up on top.

    The Lokar cable I have uses a clevis with a pin. Do I have to modify my pedal? These cables are supposedly suppose to work with both Lokar pedals and OEM pedals.

    This is the cable I have:
    https://www.summitracing.com/parts/lok-xtc-1000ht
     
  2. slayer021175666

    slayer021175666 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    80
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    I'd like to know the answer too so....
    Bump.
     
  3. Zspoiler

    Zspoiler Veteran Member

    Messages:
    3,916
    Likes Received:
    412
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Federal Way, Washington
    Modify it and or make an adapter That is what we do.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. G72Zed

    G72Zed Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    1,156
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Location:
    Canada
    I used that Lokar kit on my 72, here is a pic, I just inserted and welded in a steel tab and drilled a hole that fits the clevis pin, worked out great and do not have to play with the throttle cable.
     

    Attached Files:

    • pic.png
      pic.png
      File size:
      328.2 KB
      Views:
      244
  5. slayer021175666

    slayer021175666 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    80
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho
    I wondered if a guy could take the clevis off and just run the cable through the stock bushing in the pedal arm.
     
  6. woody80z28

    woody80z28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,608
    Likes Received:
    85
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    walton, ny usa
    Exactly what I did G72Zed.
     
  7. CamaroMan79

    CamaroMan79 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,206
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Location:
    Selah, WA
    I figured it out. I remove the clevis from the cable then just pulled the inner cable all the way out of the housing, slid the stock GM plastic button on it and slid the cable back into the housing from the opposite direction. Fits just like stock now.

    I did however use a fender washer screwed to the firewall with a homemade gasket so the outer housing could pass through. The stock square firewall hole was just too big. I might have to adjust the position of the fender washer though because the cable hooks to the pedal at a slight angle. Still works pretty good though.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 4, 2017
  8. Patrick73RS

    Patrick73RS Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    69
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal (Living in Houston)
    Yup. I removed the clevis and used the stock plastic piece like described above
     

Share This Page