LS engine; To use stock wiring & ecm or after market

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by alan0043, Jul 13, 2014.

1. alan0043

alan0043 Member

Hi Guys,

I have a '71 SS Camaro. It has been sitting in the barn for over 30 years. It is time to get this car out. I would like to repower the car with an iron block LS engine. Maybe a 5.3 or 6.0 liter engine. I am in the planning phase. I have questions about the LS engine wiring harness and ecm. Is it better to get the wiring harness & ecm with the engine as a pull out or is it better to buy the harness and ecm after market ? What is the best cost effective way of doing this ? Stock ? or after market ? This question is for the guys who have repowered their cars before. If you had to re-do it over again which way would you do it ? Is there anything that I am missing ? I have never done a project like this before. So all help is welcomed. :)

All opinions are welcomed. Thanks for any help.
    Al

2. Randy S

Randy S Veteran Member

I re-worked the stock harness on mine. That allowed me to place the relays on a panel near the battery and lengthen the harness so I can mount the PCM under the console. It's easier to order what you want, but I wanted the experience and would do it again. Spend some time searching the site - lots of discussion on harnesses.

3. Aceshigh

Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

IMHO it is always better to use OEM stuff because it's higher grade, and will be modifiable in the future with tunes.

Alot of the aftermarket junk peddled is locked.

I've done 2 LS swaps this way. My last one was done by the McCullough brothers @ www.lsxharness.com

Last edited: Jul 13, 2014
  4. LT1 WS6

LT1 WS6 Veteran Member