Newbie here. Just bought a 1978 Z28. Looking for opinions.

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by 70 gsconvt, Oct 7, 2009.

1. 70 gsconvt

70 gsconvt Veteran Member

Hi, well I just bought a 1978 Z28. 60,221 original miles. Car is basically rust-free (just two little spots to take care of). Car is very low optioned with only rear window defogger. It's a 4-speed car, no console. So I'm not worried about destroying an original, hi-optioned car.

My plans are to put a new paint job on it in the factory carmine red. Tint the windows about 30%. Then put a Hotchkis total suspension system underneath with someone's upper/lower front tubular control arms and QA1 adj. coilovers. Tie the front and rear frames. This will lower the car down about 1.5". Then 17x8 wheels and I don't know what size tires yet. I haven't looked to see what will fit in the wheel wells. New front discs and convert rear to disc brakes.

Interior will get new, modern bucket seats, new carpet, door panels. I would like to install power windows and door locks and a Vintage a/c system.

Have the rearend freshened up. Then look into putting a 406 sbc (looking for torque) and 5 or 6 speed transmission.

I've been into muscle cars for a while now. I currently have a 1970 Buick GS convertible with a 455 and 4-speed automatic out of a 1987 Grand National in it. Car runs great and in the 11.80's at the track while still being totally streetable with a/c, ps, pb, buckets, center console, gauges. But Buick just didn't make a "sporty" car. And I wanted a manual trans also. So that's why I went with the Z28. It was the car to have when I was in high school along with the Trans Am.

Any thoughts or things I should be looking for?

Last edited: Oct 7, 2009
  2. 78Z28rocker

78Z28rocker Member

Congrats on the purchase! Sounds like you have your mods all planned out. Keep us posted on the progress.

3. LSXZ28

LSXZ28 Veteran Member

Congrats - sounds alot like where I'm going with mine. Post up some pics!