pedal mods for hydraulic setup

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by purpleflame, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. purpleflame

    purpleflame Veteran Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    west valley, utah USA
    anyone have to modify the stock gen II pedal assembly to put in a hydraulic clutch, seen that one person did but dont see that it needs to but I may be wrong. just wanna make sure before i put my LT4, t-56 setup in and make sure.
     
  2. woody80z28

    woody80z28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,601
    Likes Received:
    77
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    walton, ny usa
    I moved the hole a little closer to the pivot point for more leverage, as per advice from Todd. You do not need to though.
     
  3. nobreaks254

    nobreaks254 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    aberdeen, SD
    anyone have any pics of their setup?
     
  4. Todd80Z28

    Todd80Z28 Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,850
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Location:
    Northern VA
    [​IMG]

    Small pic, sorry.

    You want the hydraulic rod attached about 1.9-2.0" down from the pivot point, or you'll overtravel the hydraulics. This can cause the clutch fork to touch the edge of the pressure plate. Also, it'll give you a stiffer pedal, and all the engagement will end up right at the top. Most of it will anyway, you don't want to make it worse.

    Todd
     
  5. woody80z28

    woody80z28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    5,601
    Likes Received:
    77
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    walton, ny usa
    Here's a pic of mine. I pressed in another piece of steel for strength since the holes overlapped. Then I stuck a 3/8" bolt through.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. KJZ28

    KJZ28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Brewsterico, New Fail
    I hear you can use 3rd gen pedals and graft in the pieces needed.
     
  7. Mizzouri

    Mizzouri Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    This thread couldn't have been any more timely for me! I am assuming this would be the same for an LS1/T56 setup right?
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2008
  8. angelz28

    angelz28 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Location:
    Guatemala Central America
    yes:bowtie:
     
  9. purpleflame

    purpleflame Veteran Member

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    west valley, utah USA
    you could if you enjoy modifying the pedals more than you would need, my research says use the second gen and raise the stud where it needs to be this way your not messing with the brake pedal trying to get it to match up as well.
    either way good luck, now to find out about the stupid speed sensor speedo switch, dang computer ran cars.
     
  10. KJZ28

    KJZ28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Brewsterico, New Fail
    I was including both the toeboard area and the pedals someone told me it was easy..but I dont know never did it.
     

Share This Page