Pex pipe?

Discussion in 'The BS Topic' started by JJFarmer, Nov 1, 2009.

1. JJFarmer

JJFarmer Veteran Member

I need to replace the galvanized pipe in the house. Starting to get pin hole leaks on the hot and man, it is really corroded inside. Anyhow, I'm looking at the options for replacement.

No copper so it's pex or PVC/CPVC.

I know nothing about the Pex but watched some good video on YouTube about it. Looks like it would go in fast, lots of options for types of fittings.

Anybody have any experience with it...opinions... recommendations?

Jim? anybody?

2. tom3

tom3 Veteran Member

Expensive stuff with the fittings and all. Special sizes, won't interchange with other stuff unless you use the 0-ring outside sealing connectors, not sure it will interchange even then. I'd go with regular old copper or glued PVC and keep it simple.

Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  3. JOHNNYMO

JOHNNYMO Veteran Member

4. gary 80z

gary 80z Veteran Member

I have been a plumber since 1987. I would not use either in my house. O-rings and glue joints fail over time. Do it in copper and do it just once. Copper will usually out last the house. Just my opinion.

5. sniggle_t

sniggle_t Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

I used pex at a friends camp this summer. Fast and easy. I liked it so much I'm going to re-ro my house with it to replace the old galvanized pipes.

6. patgizz

patgizz Moderator Lifetime Gold Member

i've been a contractor and doing plumbing work since 96, i'm up in the air with PEX in the walls. i'd never put it in my own home nor would i use it in a customers home. it's the "holy crap this stuff is amazing use it everywhere" product right now, but thats what they said about the grey polybutylene flexible pipe years ago and i've repaired several failures in sub 20 year old homes that have that running through the walls.