Push rod not spinning HELP!!!

Discussion in 'High Performance Modifications' started by slamdik, Apr 21, 2009.

  1. slamdik

    slamdik Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Location:
    Ipswich Ma
    Finally got my engine running.Did the break in w/ 30 wt rotella + 4oz of CAM

    SHIELD approximately 2500 zddp ppm.Removed inner valve spring,ran it at

    2500 rpm for 20 min. then varied the rpm...... bla bla bla .

    I read the break in procedure a million times to make sure I got it right and I

    think I did.It sounded a little ticky after break in but when I put the inner

    valve springs back in all the rockers were tight (no lash).Changed the

    oil,Penzoil 10-40 w/ 2oz CAMSHIELD approx. 1600 zddp ppm. Took it for a

    short drive(no hood) and I could hear it ticking from inside the car.Brought it

    home,pulled the valve cover and the #2 intake pushrod is was not spinning.

    Pulled the lifter out and it is not bad BUT it dose have different wear

    pattern than the others(small line in the center).

    Is the cam bad?

    Thanks Sean
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2010
  2. Louich

    Louich Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Arthur, Ontario
    i have to say i took some lobes off a voodoo once....mine dont spin now since i went to roller...:)
     
  3. slamdik

    slamdik Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Location:
    Ipswich Ma
    No lobes off yet.

    Trying to prevent that.
     
  4. ZS10

    ZS10 Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    12,166
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Its done. Sorry, hate those days.
     
  5. BondoSpecial

    BondoSpecial Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,694
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Damn we need a running tally of "who lunched a new flat tappet cam today". It's an almost every day occurrence!
     
  6. slamdik

    slamdik Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Location:
    Ipswich Ma

    Really? So breaking in a f/t cam comes down to luck I guess. This ALMOST makes me hate my car. All the time,all the money,all the research to find out I got one of the unlucky camshafts.
     
  7. BondoSpecial

    BondoSpecial Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,694
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    yeah. I broke in a cam a few months ago with regular cheap oil and $5 additive and I only broke the cam in for about 10 minutes, not 30, and 1500 miles later its going great already. Luck, maybe.
     
  8. HOLESHOT

    HOLESHOT Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Location:
    mesa,az
    ive had 3 go bad, my father inlaw is a mech and has a perfect track record damn near, in 40 plus years has had one go flat. he has never pulld the inner spring or used any breakin oil just what he had on his shelf. my friends never had probs with flat tapets but scence i lost 3 b4 im almost refuseing to start my new bbc up. even though i've had 100 people tell me it will be fine lol.
     
  9. RacerRick

    RacerRick Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    It really matters on what type of can you are breaking in also! Stock grind with gentle lobes? Old school low loft performance grind? Still gentle lobes...

    Drag race solid or modern hydralic with some aggressive lobes? Then you have to be real careful.
     
  10. slamdik

    slamdik Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Location:
    Ipswich Ma
    I don't know how much more "careful" I could be.As far I can tell I did everything right.Again the cam is not flat, YET.But it looks like will end up that way if I keep running it.
     

Share This Page