sbc or lt1 with TH200-4R

Discussion in 'Transmission & Driveline Topics' started by dutch73camaro, Feb 11, 2020.

  1. dutch73camaro

    dutch73camaro Veteran Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Location:
    Beverwijk, Netherlands
    do any of you guys know i can use the stock driveshaft ?
     
  2. camaro71/holland

    camaro71/holland Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,494
    Likes Received:
    196
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Confusing.... what are you changing, the block or the driveshaft?

    Th200-4r has the same cross member mounting distance as a th400, but almost same total length as a th350 and same spline count/diameter of the output shaft.
     
  3. Twisted_Metal

    Twisted_Metal Administrator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    29,683
    Likes Received:
    2,524
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    If you had a th350 before... You can reuse the driveshaft. (48.5" from center to center of the u-joints.)

    The th200-4R uses a different crossmember than the TH350 due to the 200-4R having a longer pan and no removable tail shaft housing which puts the crossmember mounting point farther back on the transmission.

    I don't know if the rear of an LT1 is in the same place as a sbc.
    I guess that would depend on the motor mounts you use.
     
  4. dutch73camaro

    dutch73camaro Veteran Member

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Location:
    Beverwijk, Netherlands
    oke thanks.
     
  5. BonzoHansen

    BonzoHansen Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    20,753
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Scott from Hamilton, NJ
    An LT1 is just a small block assuming we’re talking about one of the 90s versions
     

Share This Page