Smartest way to get to a 350?

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by FunBobby, Feb 15, 2014.

1. FunBobby

FunBobby Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Hi Guys,

Looking for a little advice. My car currently has a '71 307 in it. It's reliable, but not really what I want. I want to eventually move to a 350. I want the car to be fun to drive, but it will strictly be a street car. The current sbc has been equipped with 4bbl Qjet, everything seems to be in great working order. I am not an experienced mechanic, but I'm comfortable with my ability to follow directions and learn. I wouldn't want to jump into assembling an engine from scratch because I just don't have the experience, but I also don't want to pay for the "simple" stuff that I could do myself (and enjoy learning). All of that comes into play when I look at my options for changing engines. Whenever I find myself jumping back and forth between options, I always look for advice to help settle into a plan. So far, here's the way I see it:

1) complete turn-key crate engine - drop it in myself
    2) long block crate - using existing intake, carb, water pump, etc.
    3) seek out used 350 (have rebuilt if necessary)
    4) probably other options I haven't thought of

My subject says "smartest way"...that's because I'm not necessarily looking for the cheapest way - but then again, I'd rather spend $2k than $6k if I can achieve what I want.

Any advice, or shared experiences are welcomed as always!

[​IMG]

2. harbone66

harbone66 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

these days crate motors are the way to go. by the time you bought a used engine and sent it to the machine shop to get rebuilt it would exceed the price of the crate setup. plus you can get some crate motors with a decent warranty

3. FunBobby

I included a description of MY abilities so I could also discuss what kind of crate. Is turn-key the way to go, or supply the "extras" myself?

4. Chevrolaine

Chevrolaine Veteran Member Gold Member