Sniper EFI Fan control

Discussion in 'Electrical Systems' started by Elliott Taylor, Jul 20, 2021.

  1. Elliott Taylor

    Elliott Taylor Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2020
    Hey guys,

    I am in the process of wiring an electric fan on my 77 Camaro. I currently have Sniper EFI, and will be using the Sniper to control the fan through a 30 amp relay.

    The fan power wire runs to the relay, and grounds on the frame. The Sniper control and a 12v switched power source from the car also run directly to the relay.

    I have a Flex-A-Lite 238 3000 CFM fan. According to the instructions, It draws 18.5 amps. Flex-A-Lite recommends a 30 amp in line fuse.

    For the constant power to the relay, I planned on using the bat terminal on the fuse box under the dash (see picture below I found online of an identical panel). The only thing is the glass fuse in it now says 20A. Can I just switch out the 20 amp fuse for a 30 amp since this terminal is drawing straight from the battery?

    This is the only unused terminal I can find on the car with 12V constant that looks like it's close in amps.

    I'm trying to avoid running this 12V wire straight to the battery, but I guess I could with a 30A in line fuse.

    Please let me know what you think. Wiring is not my forte.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 79rstech

    79rstech New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    dallas, tx
    Run from b+ on batt to relay mounted near fan. Of course through a 30 amp fuse. Keeps wiring short.
     
  3. Elliott Taylor

    Elliott Taylor Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2020
    Rather than from the spot I mentioned on the fuse box under the dash ?
     
  4. BonzoHansen

    BonzoHansen Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    20,833
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Scott from Hamilton, NJ
    Run the feeder power from the battery or power point under the hood. Not from the box under the dash
     
  5. Elliott Taylor

    Elliott Taylor Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2020
    Ok, I hear what you're saying. Can you please tell me why I shouldn't use the box under the hood?
     
  6. BonzoHansen

    BonzoHansen Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    20,833
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Scott from Hamilton, NJ
    The circuits out of the fuse box are not designed for that amperage.
     
  7. Elliott Taylor

    Elliott Taylor Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2020
    Okay, sounds good to me! I don't have any sources under the hood for the 12V wire, so I guess I'll use the battery.
     
  8. 73Z L92

    73Z L92 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    97
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Carlos, MN
    You can bolt it to the stud on the starter solenoid. Same stud the battery cable is bolted to.
     
  9. Elliott Taylor

    Elliott Taylor Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2020
    Good point. My relay is actually right next to the battery, so i think l will go directly to it. Thank you, though!
     
  10. Elliott Taylor

    Elliott Taylor Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2020
    I ran power directly to the battery like you guys suggested, and everything is doing well. The gauge hasn't gone over 190, and it's blazing hot here in SC. Thanks for the help guys!
     

Share This Page