So I opened a cam of worms, now I'm nervous!!!

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by QUAKE_WARS, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. Todd80Z28

    Todd80Z28 Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,827
    Likes Received:
    414
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Location:
    Northern VA
    The low/high brake pedal stud is the difference in mounting points for manual or power brakes.

    Manual brakes put the stud higher- more leverage, but more pedal travel. Power brakes have the stud lower (further away from the mount/pivot point)- less leverage (don't need it with a big booster), but less pedal travel.
     
  2. QUAKE_WARS

    QUAKE_WARS Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,108
    Likes Received:
    183
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    No portion may be used with or without permission
    Yup, i got manual. So needs to go higher:) its crazy whats a 1/2 inch difference makes
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2009
  3. drptop70ss

    drptop70ss Veteran Member

    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 1999
    Location:
    NY zip 12538
    on chevelles, novas, and early camaros the lower hole is for power brakes and the upper hole is then used for a sheet metal tab to actuate the brake light switch. Manual brakes used the upper hole and the brake pedal sat high enough to hit the brake light switch on its own. I would think it would be the same with 2nd gens..it is pretty much impossible to use the wrong mounting hole because you have to put the pedal rod out of alignment. It should go straight into the car and pretty much line up with the hole.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2009
  4. QUAKE_WARS

    QUAKE_WARS Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,108
    Likes Received:
    183
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    No portion may be used with or without permission
    Well, Todd did it again. I put the rod higher and the brakes work like a charm.
    All problems solved. Thanks Todd. :bowtie: :bowtie:
     
  5. Todd80Z28

    Todd80Z28 Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,827
    Likes Received:
    414
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Glad to help! I'm not able to that often anymore.

    Plus, drptop might actually be correct on original app. It's been 15+ years since I've actually seen a factory manual brake car.
     
  6. drptop70ss

    drptop70ss Veteran Member

    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 1999
    Location:
    NY zip 12538
    whatever works is good, as long as the rod isnt binding all will be good to go.
     
  7. QUAKE_WARS

    QUAKE_WARS Veteran Member

    Messages:
    2,108
    Likes Received:
    183
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    No portion may be used with or without permission
    Yea, thanks also. I dont understand how a little bit of angle could be so drastic.
    But putting the rod back in the original location made a world of difference.

    here is the part # for the brake rod needed for the swap.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]



    more pic's to follow :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2009
  8. drptop70ss

    drptop70ss Veteran Member

    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 1999
    Location:
    NY zip 12538
    I edited my original post for future searchers, my memory failed me..I was just under the dash of a chevelle I am building and the lower hole is used for power brakes, the upper hole is for manual brakes.
     
  9. Lrader99

    Lrader99 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Location:
    NW Georgia
    just a little info maybe it will help maybe it wont. mount that T-56 on a polyurethane pad that way there is some shock absorbtion, if at all possible refrain from using a torque arm setup as this torques the case and misaligns the 3-4 syncro assembly, i have replaced my fair share of these, it is def.the weakpoint of the trans. lastly i would use the hurst billet plus it is centered more to the left than any other shifter out there. and i know shifter location is crucial on these. i had one for years in my trans am. had fast accurate shift quality
     
  10. PolarBear

    PolarBear Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    It is mounted with a rubber mount, I thin k he has the hurst shifter and there are no torque arms on these cars...
     

Share This Page