T56 clutch adjustment

Discussion in 'Transmission & Driveline Topics' started by hania, Jan 2, 2021.

1. hania

hania New Member

I have a 81 Z that I put in a T-56 from a 94 firebird i am using the clutch system which is basically A master cylinder, a slave cylinder, which is connected to a Fork which is a pull style clutch. The pedal is engaging the clutch very high I would like to adjusted it and to make it catch a little lower can anybody help with this please.
    thanks in advance

2. dannyUAL767

dannyUAL767 Veteran Member

hania, I've been working on my LS376/480hp and Tremec T56 Magnum swap into my 1991 Mustang Coupe. Lately I've been dealing with the bellhousing and hydraulic clutch assembly so I have some recent experience in this area. However, after reading your post a couple of times, your situation appears different than mine. Mine doesn't have any type of "Fork which is a pull style clutch" so any of my advice might not be applicable.

I do know with these hydraulic clutches and slave cylinders, the gap between the pressure plate fingers and the "bottoming out" of the slave cylinder must be measured to insure that there is a certain amount of gap. In my case, my gap was excessive and I had to purchase these shims to reduce the gap:

https://www.tickperformance.com/tick-performance-slave-cylinder-shim-kit-3-pack/

In your case, it almost sounds like you have too little gap! In my mind I can see the first movement of the clutch pedal moving the slave and causing it to engage/disengage at the very top of the pedal travel.

I'm certainly no expert but I thought that I'd throw out some information that may be helpful or at least start the conversation. I'm always open to learn more.

3. badazz81z28

badazz81z28 Veteran Member

Have you searched places like LS1tech by googling “1994 Camaro Clutch adjustment”?