T56 shifter fitment question

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by 1st and goal, Sep 2, 2012.

  1. 1st and goal

    1st and goal Veteran Member

    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Seacoast, NH
    I've got an LS1 swap in my 73 Z/28 and am currently running a A4 but am looking to swap in an M6 and see there are some differnt shifters for the T56.

    My question is if I swap in an M6 do I need to get an offset shifter to get the shifter to sit in the right spot for a factory manual shifter console or will a regular shifter work?

    Any one have any pictures of how the shifter looks when sitting in a factory console?

    Thanks,
    Marc
     
  2. 70UglyBird

    70UglyBird Veteran Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Portland
    Marc,

    I don't know if this helps or not. But it seemed like the stock Fbody shifter fits in the auto consoles. I know a guy that uses Viper transmissions because the shifter is higher and works better with the manual setup.

    The GTO would but it back a couple of inches and the CTS which is kind of crazy would put it into the console. Here is a picture of mine hope it helps this is a GTO trans with an F-body lever and a stock F-body shifter:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. 1st and goal

    1st and goal Veteran Member

    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Seacoast, NH
    Thanks, appreciate the picture
     
  4. 70 gsconvt

    70 gsconvt Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Location:
    Wadsworth, OH
    Man, that looks like it just about perfect with a rubber boot.
     
  5. 70UglyBird

    70UglyBird Veteran Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Portland
    Yeah I'm trying to figure out how to do the boot...YEar one has a nice trim peice for the 6 speed conversions with auto console but don't offer a boot to go with it..go figure..
     
  6. Todd80Z28

    Todd80Z28 Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,827
    Likes Received:
    414
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I'm running the LT1 T56 behind a Gen1 small block, but the stick ended up in the same location with my 2" rearward extension bracket. Here's how I did my boot-
    [​IMG]

    I cut the plate out of 1/2" plywood, covered it with thin batt material, then black naugahyde. Boot is a cheapie Autozone vinyl piece stapled to the plywood, but it's stiff enough to stay erect (that's what she said...)
     
  7. 70UglyBird

    70UglyBird Veteran Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Portland

    Looks good how did you attach the base to the console?
     
  8. Todd80Z28

    Todd80Z28 Moderator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,827
    Likes Received:
    414
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Location:
    Northern VA
    More staples.:) IIRC, I pre-drilled some small holes through the plastic, and put the staples in by hand, then pounded them in (somewhat gently). Something like that...:screwup:
     

Share This Page