The Beast gets rewired finally

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by Aceshigh, Aug 22, 2009.

  1. 79camaro2001

    79camaro2001 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,773
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Monroeville, PA
    That Nascar connector sure does look interesting!

    A little over kill, but I'm still not sure on how you are wiring it up, plus you got all of the FI wires to deal with so it might be a good thing.

    Where you get that by the way?
     
  2. 79camaro2001

    79camaro2001 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,773
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Monroeville, PA
    Is that a actual connector or just a place to pass through your wires??

    Maybe a description of that bulk head connector would help, just trying to learn about it!
     
  3. KJZ28

    KJZ28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Brewsterico, New Fail
    That air cleaner looks a little........beat? Everything else is coming out great!
     
  4. Fleetwiz

    Fleetwiz RIP 3/11/18 Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vernon NJ USA
    Looking Ace...keep us posted...
     
  5. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    http://www.amazon.com/Delphi-Packar..._1?ie=UTF8&s=automotive&qid=1251685982&sr=1-1
    [​IMG]
    22 port Bulk Head connector. 10 ports for 12 gauge, and 12 ports for 14-18 gauge.
    I got this, plus the AAW Hwy 22 kit from Muscle Rodz who is a vendor here.
    Obviously cheaper.....

    I am doing this instead of just running large lengths of wire through a rubber
    boot thru my firewall. This gives me a simpler disconnect point if I need it later
    or I can ADD on to it later also.

    I fell on it Saturday....lol
    I was laying across the engine TRYING to unbolt the brake booster from all
    these very awkward angles, and then I squished it on accident. Finally I
    gave up and removed the hood.....which I should have just done from the get go.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2009
  6. 79camaro2001

    79camaro2001 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,773
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Location:
    Monroeville, PA

    Got ya, not a bad deal, I'll have to remember that when it's time and see if that's something I want to do.

    Also doesn't that suck when you try to cut corners and you end up breaking more? LOL
     
  7. amargari

    amargari Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Morristown, NJ, USA

    Looks good. I didn't have room putting mine there with the clutch pedal. I put mine up under the dash on a bracket I made and welded to a dash support.

    Here is the bracket welded up:
    [​IMG]

    Here is the fuse box mounted:
    [​IMG]

    I also put my bulkhead in the fenderwell.
    [​IMG]

    I am in the process of wiring everything now. I have finished group A and most of sheet B. So far I am very happy with the kit.
     
  8. KJZ28

    KJZ28 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Brewsterico, New Fail

    LOL!! Thats a funny image.
     
  9. Aceshigh

    Aceshigh Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    26,757
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Location:
    Boondocks
    You know, I wish I had a welder.....

    Because I reallly like where you put yours better.
    It's COMPLETELY up and out of the way.

    This is where the stock fuse panel went, so it works, but if I didn't
    have the ECM for the LS1 I would have put it behind the glove box.

    As for the bulkhead connector......how are you running your wires to it ??
    Through the kickpanel ??? How's that going to work out ??
     
  10. amargari

    amargari Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Morristown, NJ, USA
    Thanks. It took me a long time to decide where to put the fuse box.

    I am going to run the wires through the large hole behind the kick panel. I may have to look into a way to protect them from water.
     

Share This Page