Timing issue ?

Discussion in 'High Performance Modifications' started by wiseryder, Aug 24, 2018.

  1. wiseryder

    wiseryder Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    belding,mi USA
    Hi guys, I been battling this for awhile now.
    383, No matter what I do, It dont like more than 30 degrees,
    Runs decent tho,
    Has a retrofit cam kit in it, if that matters, crank gear installed at zero.
    MSD distibuter with Pertronics box,
    RPM heads
    Im running a Fitech if that matters, doubt it tho..
    Actually Im running a QF right now cause the Fitech is in Cali. getting repaired, another story.
    No change, just dont want much timing
    What am I missing here ?
    if more info is needed , ask away.
    I can drive it around no problem, But I know it should be able to take more !
    I should note that Im using a dialback light, I've allways used it with MSD stuff, allways worked ,I dont have tape on the balancer
    Thanks guys !
     
  2. Peck

    Peck Veteran Member

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Location:
    Tacoma,WA
  3. CorkyE

    CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,650
    Likes Received:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Ringgold, GA
    I'm on old geezer, always used a standard timing light, never trusted the dial backs. Younger days were timing tapes, I use a balancer with degree marks now. Start with the standard method of using a piston stop to verify the 0* mark on the balancer is correct. Then put a tape on and see where you're at. I don't think that 383 is at it's best with 30*. Remember to disconnect vacuum advance, if you're using it.
     
  4. wiseryder

    wiseryder Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    belding,mi USA
    Thanks Corky, Im kinda old too, 58, old school but it's allways worked.
    When I assembled the engine, timing pointer is dead nuts with the TOP
    Guess I could just install a section of tape? Right? set it too zero, use a reg light?
    And I agree, it should be wanting ALOT more !!
     
  5. wiseryder

    wiseryder Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    belding,mi USA
    Thanks Peck, I've seen that before.
     
  6. CorkyE

    CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,650
    Likes Received:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Ringgold, GA
    There are formulas on this fantastic interwebz where you can take a measuring tape, measure from zero and mark what degree marks you want to on you balancer. A little paint mark at 36* is easy to reference from.

    Add on - I've never had a timing tape that lasted for any extended period of time, that's why I've always marked the balancer.
     
  7. wiseryder

    wiseryder Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    belding,mi USA
    Right , I Dont want tape on the thing, I've never had it.
    I'll try to find that but if you beat me to it , that would nice!
    Now I gotta go find an old school light to purchase , ugh !
    They still make those things ? lol
     
  8. CorkyE

    CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,650
    Likes Received:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Location:
    Ringgold, GA
    Evil Bay for an old Sun or Craftsman, I'll see if I can find the article on how to measure and mark a balancer, I think it's been in several magazine articles. Start with Hot Rod, Car Craft, Super Chevy, etc. Google will lead you there.
     
  9. jeff swisher

    jeff swisher Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    512
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2018
    Location:
    Yukon Oklahoma
    You gave it as much as it wants and more timing it does not like.
    The timing light is for reference. once you have the timing dialed in to where the car runs best they you put a light on it and see what it is so if you change something you can stick it back to where it ran best.

    That is my take on it..Care less what timing the light states as long as it reads the same every time.

    Yea it is nice if it read correct numbers.. but those are just numbers.. give it what it wants.
     
  10. NYH1

    NYH1 Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Location:
    Central New Yorkistan
    wiseryder, how much compression do you have and what octane fuel are you running?

    NYH1.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.