Using Heat to Remove Rusty Bolt

Discussion in 'The BS Topic' started by Flynt, Mar 1, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Flynt

Flynt Veteran Member

I am not a mechanic and I am trying to remove a rusty bolt that may have loctite applied at the factory. Will somebody tell me what heating method to use to aid in removing PXL_20210301_153200034.jpg PXL_20210228_185908260.jpg the bolt? This is the underside of the cab of my truck. I do not want to damage the cab or the carpet inside the cab by using the wrong heating method. Please give me some advice.

2. Smokin'Joe

Smokin'Joe Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

If you have not tried it yet, you may want to use some good old penetrating oil first. I have had really good luck using Seafoam Deep Creep. Also, with really stubborn bolts, you use a can of the freeze off spray first. You'd need to pull the carpet back, then blast it with the freeze off for about 10 seconds to contract the bolt, then hit it with the Deep Creep. Let it sit overnight and give it a try. Also, since you have access to the top and bottom, I'd work both sides of it. Heat has it's place, but can also melt, burn and can alter the hardening of the bolt if you are going to reuse it.

--

3. TommyRS70

TommyRS70 Veteran Member

Soak with PbBlaster...breaker bar, or air impact...watch the carpet with heat...good luck, they can be a bugger

4. Jodi

Jodi Veteran Member

^^^+1 on both suggestion above. I'll also add try tapping the bolt head with a hammer once or twice... and once you got the bolt to move spray with more penetrating oil and then do the tightening and loosening method to reduce the chance of the bolt breaking. Good luck!

danbrennan and TommyRS70 like this.
  5. Twisted_Metal

Twisted_Metal Administrator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

Get a wire wheel or wire brush under the cab and clean up the threads which are showing.
    There may be undercoating and rust on the bottom side and anything you can remove will help.