Voltage Regulator Restoration/Cleaning

Discussion in 'Original Drivetrain Topic' started by CamarosRus, Dec 4, 2005.

1. CamarosRus

CamarosRus Veteran Member

I recently bought a dated (0F/June 1970) Delco Remy Voltage Regulator.

1) The BASE plate appears to have been stamped from GALVANIZED sheet metal. I am almost positive of this, and NOT zinc plated after stamping
    2) I tryed cleaning the base with toothbrush and metal polish. It does work, but near impossible to capture original look of galvanizing. I also used some scotchbrite. I then used Fine Bronze Wool to clean the Galvanized Metal, and think this does a good job, without scratching or polishing metal.....but I also used some of that cotton wadding (NEVER DULL) when I was done.
    3) Curious if anybody has knowledgeable opinion of how someone like Pirkle restores the cosmetic look of Volt Reg Base Plate. I'm not a proponent of Spray Paint Plating Finishes, but curious if any "Galvanized" paint could look correct......
    4) Restoring the Volt Reg Cover seem straight forward after glassbeading, I would use a FULL GLOSS Black Paint
    5) I would also Clear(Silver)Zinc the misc fasteners
    6) Lastly HOW exactly, do you check the operation of avolt reg...HOW can I tell if good or NOT?????

Picture below of Jack Seymours survivor..........

[​IMG]

2. CamarosRus

Jack, There is also pictured above TWO bolts going through into core support.
    Is the lower one holding front edge of fenderwell??? .........so what is upper bolt doing??

Thanks, Chuck

3. jacsey 70Z

jacsey 70Z Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Chuck, I had a voltage regulator done by John Pirkle and it looked Great think the base was glass beaded but don't remember for sure.