Vortec heads

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by Thomas Mihalyi, Mar 30, 2020.

  1. Thomas Mihalyi

    Thomas Mihalyi Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    I just got some Vortec heads from a junk yard and didn’t realize til I was taking off my stock heads off my 1977 camaro that there are 6 bolts on my intake but only 4 on the Vortec heads can I still use this intake or do I absolutely need a new intake
     
  2. Green hornet

    Green hornet Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    375
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, CA
    You will need to buy an intake that fits the Vortec heads. Not only are there fewer bolts but the bolts are at a different angle.
     
  3. 1980RS

    1980RS Veteran Member

    Messages:
    3,896
    Likes Received:
    837
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    Hornet is right you need a intake made for Vortec heads. While you are at it put some good springs on the heads and don't go over .480 lift, maybe less.
     
  4. frank5s

    frank5s Veteran Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Naperville Il
    I picked up used vortec heads at local boneyard, then installed ls6 beehive springs, got some comp cam retainers that added
    +.050 clearance and also valve locks that added +.050. Heads made big changes to stock 1980z 350 engine.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2020
    tom3 likes this.
  5. Thomas Mihalyi

    Thomas Mihalyi Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Thank you for all the responses I have one more question and do I need a certain head gasket or will any sbc one for my engine work
     
  6. Thomas Mihalyi

    Thomas Mihalyi Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    I also am running heads from a 5.7 to a 305 I’ve seen that it works okay
     
  7. Green hornet

    Green hornet Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    375
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, CA
    No problem on the heads to a 305. As for the head gasket get a head gasket set that fits The Vortec heads, it will come with the intake gaskets that you need. They are also different like the intake manifold.
     
  8. Thomas Mihalyi

    Thomas Mihalyi Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Okay thank you so much everyone
     
  9. Thomas Mihalyi

    Thomas Mihalyi Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    I get a head gasket for a 5.7 because my heads are from one correct
     
  10. frank5s

    frank5s Veteran Member

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Naperville Il
    Use a steel shim gasket , it is .016 thick and help raise compression
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.