Will a pair or 4" speakers fit/work in the dash?

Discussion in 'Car Audio, Electronics & Security' started by 76_TypeLT, Aug 10, 2016.

  1. 76_TypeLT

    76_TypeLT Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    6,394
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I am curious if a pair of 4" speakers with a custom mounting bracket would fit OK in the dash. Or should I stick with 3.5" speakers?
     
  2. Twisted_Metal

    Twisted_Metal Administrator Staff Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    29,923
    Likes Received:
    2,693
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    I believe some people have made 4" speakers work.

    I used a gutted factory speaker frame but went with 3.5" speakers for my car and my sons.
    4" would fit fine if you're making your own frame as the original speaker was a 4x10.
    It would be a tight fit with 4" speakers inside the original frame.
     
  3. 70camarodude

    70camarodude Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Plymouth, Michigan
    I managed to stuff (2)6 1/2" speaker up front. Modified the bracket and also have after market gauges too. The speakers almost touch the back of one gauge.
     
  4. 76_TypeLT

    76_TypeLT Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    6,394
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    thanks, that's good info. I plan on having to make a custom bracket or take a factory bracket and somehow modify it to make 4" speakers work but it sounds like they will fit.
     
  5. FlaJunkie

    FlaJunkie Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    6,447
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2001
    Location:
    Rockledge, Florida
    I bought these assembled like this. There is no real stereo separation; I kinda wish I'd put the optional (but cancelled) corner speakers into the dash.

    Speakers:

    [​IMG]

    Amplifier where the radio was:

    [​IMG]

    Kenwood HD inside and through the back (for cooling) of the glovebox:

    [​IMG]

    I used some fibre optic cable to pass the control signals from the remote into the radio with the glovebox door closed.

    I used the radio delete plate to hide the amplifier:

    [​IMG]
     
    webfeet69 likes this.
  6. jsibayan

    jsibayan Veteran Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Location:
    Salinas, CA
    Hello, can I ask where you get your stereo delete plate?
     
  7. MotionClone

    MotionClone Veteran Member

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    303
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    away from the crazies
    4" fit fine. I fabbed a bracket that angled the speakers away from each other slightly.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. FlaJunkie

    FlaJunkie Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    6,447
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2001
    Location:
    Rockledge, Florida
    I cannot remember right now...just do a search on google for it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2016
  9. jsibayan

    jsibayan Veteran Member

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Location:
    Salinas, CA
    I tried to google for it as well, but the only info I received was from a company called REDVENOMREPROS. They emailed me back and stated that they have a pate, but when I read the email receipt return they are from an out of country off site area. They listed no price and they accept paypal, but ONLY. Kinda weird. The country was from Monrovia, Reykjavik. Kinda "Fishy" to me.
     
  10. FlaJunkie

    FlaJunkie Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

    Messages:
    6,447
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2001
    Location:
    Rockledge, Florida

Share This Page